Training SprutCAM - (Australia)

Thread: Training SprutCAM - (Australia)

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Training SprutCAM - (Australia)

Hi All,

I am just in the process of purchasing a tormach 770, a long with the SprutCAM software. Does anyone provide training in Australia for this software ? I am based in Darwin, so will probably have to travel to one of the major cities !

I have limited to no experience with CNC mills, but a heavy programming / computer background. Just looking to avoid any of the bigginer mistakes if at all possible.

Thanks in Advance,

Adrian

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Hi Adrian,
    I am not aware of any SprutCAM training in Australia.

But the training videos produced by Tormach are very good (and free) and will help you get familiar with most of the usual operations. And the Tormach SprutCAM guru can provide good advice (also for free).

A software background will provide some help but the G code is lilke a very basic Basic. Nevertheless you should learn the commands etc, because you will find it necessary to modify the SprutCAM output occasionally. The Tormach User Manuals (for the machines) cover the Gcode in sufficient detail and are specific to the Tormach postprocessor, the software used by SprutCAM that produces the Gcode.

Don't bother to buy the Peter Smid "CNC Programming Handbook", it is very detailed and most of it is not applicable to the Tormach. I have a copy and have used it about three times over the last four years. (I too have a software background.)

Unless you have a machinist's background, you probably will find the biggest learning curve in CNC to be speeds and feeds and techniques. The cnczone forums for SprutCAM and Tormach are excellent, very active and have very experienced and capable posters who offer good advice.

The support from Tormach is excellent, really outstanding and the quality of the machines is great value for money. You have made a good choice of brand.