Need Help! 800W Spindle with 2.2kw VFD

Thread: 800W Spindle with 2.2kw VFD

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default 800W Spindle with 2.2kw VFD

Hi guys,
    i am new to the cnc world, and wanted to build a cnc control box. The only part that i still have to buy is a VFD for my 800W watercooled spindle.
    Right now i have a 1500W Nowforever d100 VFD installed in the controller box that came with the cnc machine.

The only nowforever VFD i can find on ebay is a 2.2kw one. There are no 1.5kw ones.
    Is it recommended to use the stronger one with the 800W Spindle?? Are there any advantages even? Maybe disadvantages`?

I have talked with the chinese seller and he is telling me that its ok, but i wanted to make sure.

I would really appreciate an answer.

Thank you

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: 800W Spindle with 2.2kw VFD

The 1500W VFD you already have should work fine with the new 800W motor. Just try to set the maximum VFD output current to match the 800W motor nameplate current.

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post
    The 1500W VFD you already have should work fine with the new 800W motor. Just try to set the maximum VFD output current to match the 800W motor nameplate current.
    The thing is the cnc machine came allready with the 800W spi dle. Everything is working correctly. I just wanted to make a new controllerbox with a custom casing, new drivers and breakout board. Its an replacement, and the original one will stay for spare parts or in case something goes bad on the new one.

I have all the parts for the new controll box except the vfd. So will a 2.2kw vfd be good or should i try to buy a 1.5kw vfd somewhere else? I will stick with the 800W spindle for now, because it gets the job perfectly done.

Downloads
    Uploads