Apprentice Siemens user questions!

Thread: Apprentice Siemens user questions!

Downloads
    Uploads

Question Apprentice Siemens user questions!

Hi guys! I am an aspiring CNC technician (apprentice). I am currently doing training in the aerospace sector and the machines we are using run Siemens 840d. I am starting to understand the various commands that the machine we are using executes and what they mean. I am definitely a novice so enjoy my entry level questions!

I am wondering?:

1. Are G codes a standard (are they the same across all machines) ?

2. Are M codes a standard (are they the same across all machines) ?

3. If they are machine specific where would I go to find these listed with meanings? For example we have a siemens 840d operating manual, would I be able to find these common conventions listed in there? Where do you veteran machinists go to understand code you haven't come across before?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Apprentice Siemens user questions!

There are G/M code standards for most of the codes. The basic codes are pretty much standard across all manufactures, but each manufacturer has their own codes for some special functions.

Here is a good place to start for a general understanding https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G-code

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Downloads
    Uploads

G-codes are not specific for certain machines.
    G-codes are (nearly) the same for all controls. But be aware that only the basic G-codes (e.g. G0, G1, G2, G3, G4 etc.) are the same for controls of different manufactures.
    Siemens has a lot of G-codes which don't look so at a first glance.