Please Critic My Machining Strategies for this part

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please Critic My Machining Strategies for this part

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Please Critic My Machining Strategies for this part

Hello all
    I'm very new to cnc machining and looking to make the part pictured below. I working in solidworks and solidcam. I have come up with a strategy to make the part and hope you can critic what I intend to do.

Material: Al 6061
    Machine: Benchtop CNC converted mill (X2) running Mach
    Part dimensions: 2.5" x 2.5" x 2.5" (approximately)

Part

Once I have the stock faced to the correct dimensions,
    I start with a rough cut
    3D milling, 1/2" endmill, contour cut, 2mm step down and 50% overlap , 0.5 surface offset

results

then semifinish
    3d milling, 1/4" endmill, Linear, 0.2 surface offset, 0.1 scallop

Results

Finish
    3D milling, 1/4 ballnose mill, linear, 0.01 scallop, 0.01 arc approx

results look very similar to the diagram above

I just can't get a good finish. Any advice, is welcome. How would you machine this part?

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Are you programming in inches or in mm? If you are programming in inches your arc tol is far too big - try setting it to .001. You will get an lot more code, but the finish will be better.

Downloads
    Uploads