Help with setting up this part

Thread: Help with setting up this part

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Exclamation Help with setting up this part

Hey Guys,

I am a newbie in Solidcam and I am having problems with this part not coming out correctly on the Solidcam simulator. I am using Mach3 as my machine code translator for a router. I set it up using a profile for the outer part and then a second pocket operation with the center cut out. I tried using only one chain on the profile cut, which did not cut the entire cutout. So, I tried adding a second chain but it still does not cut out the entire section. Basically it is only going once around the center circle. How should I be making this part in SolidCam??

Also, the second picture is another problem I am having. It seems that when I bring in the gcode to Mach3 and make a simulated run in Mach3, the starting point of the tool is always pretty far away from the part as shown in the example. How do I make it so that the tool starts where I want it to start. Let's say if I wanted the cutting bit to start or be zeroed at the center of the circle. Do I do this in Solidcam or is this a Mach3 issue.

Thanks for the help, let me know if you have any questions. Also, I cannot find any kind of SolidCam book or tutorial (other than that offered by solidworks) on the web. Can anyone suggest any books or material, I am basically learning this on my own.

Thanks again,
    skipper

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Help with setting up this part-raised-circle-2-jpg   Help with setting up this part-raised-circle-3jpg-jpg  

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads
    ----------------
    Can't Fix Stupid

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Setting up paths in Solidcam

1. You selected two profile paths in solidcam. Go to the multipath button and select the two chains their. It will then cut the pocket.