Problems tig welding carbon steel tubing

Thread: Problems tig welding carbon steel tubing

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Problems tig welding carbon steel tubing

To start, I'm a novice, but here it goes.
    I'm having problems with welds becoming contaminated while welding exhaust tubing.
    1. joint clean & sanded
    2. argon at about 30 psi
    3. cup is about half in in dia.
    For some reason the "stack of dimes" is impossible to get. It will go ok for a while, then I'll see the puddle dance (get pin holes). Sometimes the puddle looks like it is heating up way too much and looks like I'm gas welding.
    Sheet & metal bar stock seems to do ok which makes me think that the dom tubing is poor quality.
    Any help would be appreciated.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by longcut View Post
    To start, I'm a novice, but here it goes.
    I'm having problems with welds becoming contaminated while welding exhaust tubing.
    For some reason the "stack of dimes" is impossible to get. It will go ok for a while, then I'll see the puddle dance (get pin holes). Sometimes the puddle looks like it is heating up way too much and looks like I'm gas welding.
    what kind of pipe is it? what kind of filler is it? how are you welding dipping or walking the cup? how many amps? how many cf/h of argon, what kind of electrode stickout? what kind of electrode?
    2. argon at about 30 psi
    we are welding. not using an oxy-fuel torch. we do not measure gas flow rate in psi. We do it volume / time (typicall cf/h or l/m) if you're using 30psi then you're using 29-30psi too much. If you don't have a correct flow meter, forget it until you get one, or get alot more experiance.
    3. cup is about half in in dia.
    is it a cup or a gas lens? cups suck, use a gas lens for pipe to give you better coverage and more stickout to do merges.
    1. joint clean & sanded
    Cleaned with what? Sanded with what?