Z Axis Reversing

Thread: Z Axis Reversing

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Z Axis Reversing

I just fired up my new tabletop CNC router table and am in the process of getting things tuned and setup. This is my first build, so please don't laugh just yet. Everything seems to be progressing well except for the Z Axis. For some reason unknown to me, when I jog the Z Axis, the stepper wants to reverse every time that I click on the up or down button in Mach 3. The X and Y Axis work perfectly. The motor also wants to pick its own direction when running under control of the G Code. The X and Y Axis, again, work perfectly.

I have checked all of the wiring and Mach 3 settings and they all are fine. Can anyone give me some suggestions on what might be causing this?

I am running a Xylotex 3-axis controller with their power supply and three of their NEMA 23 motors. This was purchased as one of their complete drive packages. Everything should be properly matched.

I am running the Demo version of Mach 3 Mill Version R1.84.000. I wanted to try it before I purchased it since this is my first attempt. The way things are going, it may be my last. I have a full-sized Shop Sabre table that I purchased new. I just thought that a tabletop machine would be fun to build.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Are you sure the step and direction pins aren't reversed? If not, there may be some noise on the direction line.

Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html[/URL]

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    [URL]http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html[/URL]

JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    [URL]http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html[/URL]

(Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads