welding advice

Thread: welding advice

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default welding advice

I am just learning to weld, I have some 3/16" steel tube I am working with. I am making a T with it. The fillet weld sides I have gotten to look pretty nice and even the corner transition looks not to bad. I am having trouble with the side that is similiar to a butt joint weld. I just does not weld good, and some of my joints have a small gap. And advice?

Lincoln 175amp
    Instructions say to use .35 flux wire, which is what I am doing.

I welding some together, and threw them as hard as I could on the concrete and the didn't break, jumped on them too. Guess it doesn't look good, but at least it is holding.

Similar Threads:
    Donald

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

A welder once told me that a bad looking weld is just that, bad. I have the same welder and practice make better. Round tubes are tough to weld! Start with two peices of flate or some square tube. Lay them out just as you have the round tube. Practice until you get good smooth purdy welds. Then work on the round tube. Keep a steady hand, proper angle, watch the puddle, be sure you are dragging the puddle, not pushing it. It should come out looking purdy. Good luck, keep welding.

Downloads
    Uploads

A welder once told me that a bad looking weld is just that, bad.
    A truer statment has never been said!

now for the confusion

A bad looking weld is bad, but, may work.

a good looking weld isn't neccessarily a good weld! (I have seen some doosy's!)

This is not a Spec anywhere that I know but the weld should be as thick as the wall that is being welded (this is the eyeballers rule of thumb! ) so .120 tubing should have a 1/8 (minimum) weld going around it.