Tests for Shoptask tolerances?

Thread: Tests for Shoptask tolerances?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Tests for Shoptask tolerances?

I've made some fairly simply parts on my shoptask. I have no background in maching and am simply learning as i go.

What measurements/items should I check to see if my Shoptask is up to snuff?

I can generally hold a +/-.005 tolerance (again mainly cause I am new and it takes me 2-3 parts to get to that level of accuracy) is there somethings that I should DEFINATELY look at to ensure its more ME makeing the mistake than the machine?

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Exclamation tolerances

are you using cnc or manual mode? if using cnc mode ,oo5 is not even in the
    ballpark.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

+/- .005 is a lot, you should check your measuring equipment. If thats not it, check the way you make your setups, your piece may be moving without you noticing...

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

If you have a DRO - use it!
    If not, get at least a 2 axis DRO system asap.

They are pretty inexpensive and it takes out the guesswork of any machine "slop".

Pres

Downloads
    Uploads

I'm new as well, but here are some things I have tested on my ST. Let me know if you need more procedural details. And yes, DRO is the way to go.

1) Check the backlash on all axes. I wrote them on my DRO screen with a silver sharpie. When I measure, my repeatability is will within .001, but when I'm making parts sometimes I end up scratching my head. As in, measure OD of a turned part, set DRO, take a few cuts, measure...and my DRO is off by a few thou.

2) Check/set the angle of the table perpendicular to the X axis.

3) Check the alignment of your tailstock (center, height, and parallelism to the ways)

4) use a 4 jaw chuck and dial indicator for turning. However, my three jaw seems to be more accurate that I would expect.