Close Loop Stepper vs BLDC servo vs AC Servo

Thread: Close Loop Stepper vs BLDC servo vs AC Servo

Downloads
    Uploads

Question Close Loop Stepper vs BLDC servo vs AC Servo

Hi Guys, I am relatively new to servo area. I have purchased close loop stepper system for my mill cnc conversion project, and it looks like, while being twice cheaper, I will be missing out on a lot of features. Looks like encoder on CL stepper system will not actually help me with positioning at all but can only be used as a failsafe, which was not my goal at all.

So, I went to alibaba to see what I can get instead of this system which cost me $80*3 + $80 for DC supply = $320 total, that is for 3Nm motor system.

Now back to alibaba offers, I could get a servo there with actually more torque, such as 220V AC servo (my mill is 220V always) for $120ish, which is just little more compared to my current buy, and dont need a 48V power supply on it too.

However I dont really know what exactly the difference would be between AC and DC servo system. If anyone could shed some light for me, would appreciate. I did googling, but also wanted to hear "insiders" opinions from home CNC machine perspective.

Thanks!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Close Loop Stepper vs BLDC servo vs AC Servo

By DC servo system, I assume you mean BLDC?
    The performance between the two is roughly the same, with the BLDC having slightly more torque over the AC.
    DC brushed is hardly used anymore, although for many years, this was the norm in most industrial CNC machines.
    For my DIY projects I mainly used BLDC with no problems.

CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

Downloads
    Uploads