Hoverboard CNC

Thread: Hoverboard CNC

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Hoverboard CNC

Hi everyone,
    I have stumbled upon a number or broken hoverboards and can salvage their motors (500W 36V, "inside the wheel " permanent magnet servo)

Do you think it will be possible to control and use them for CNC? They do have aluminium plates on both sides which should make it possible to attach them.
    They can handle a standing person with ease.

What other things would you suggest i use them for?
    Do you have any simple and cheap way i could get these under control? (arduino, drivers or such) I am a complete noob.
    Thanks.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Hoverboard CNC

Yes, you can use them for motion control projects - sort of.

You indicated 'complete noob', so if any of this is too simplistic please forgive me.

First thing to figure out is how fast the motor spins at a given voltage. This will determine if it's useable for a particular application - if the motor spins at 30,000RPM at 36vdc, it's probably not useable to move an axis or similar without an expensively complicated speed reduction method. Look at the label or motor markings - or find a similar hoverboard and spend some time on the internet researching that (or very similar) motors.

If you determine that the motor RPM is in a range suitable to drive a belt, ballscrew, leadscrew, or rack and pinion then the next step is to get some additional components:

BLDC/Servo drive
    Power supply
    Encoder
    Controller

An arduino can be used as a controller to send step & direction signals to the motor drive.

The motor drive accepts positioning, velocity, or torque commands from the controller, and energizes the motor (spins/moves it).

The encoder is mounted to to motor and provides position information to the motor drive, so the drive 'knows' where the motor is and how fast it's going.