Servo Drivers

Thread: Servo Drivers

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Servo Drivers

Hey Guys,

I'm really new to this stuff so please excuse my ignorance. I currently built a hobby 3 axis machine with Nema 23 Steppers and now am looking to replace with Servo or Servo Hybrids. All the articles I've read state that servo's come with the encoder and driver built in, but when I look for servo's on Ali Express I see they have servo's, most of them with a driver box. Would these "servo's" that have a driver box not be considered real servo's then? For example:

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3298...archweb201603_

Package Listing:

1 PCS Servo Motor
    1 PCS Drive <--- thought these were "built-in" with servos?
    1 PCS 3M Encoder Cable
    1 PCS 3M Power Cable
    1PCS 25Pins Cable

Thanks Alot,

Billi.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Servo Drivers

Hi,
    most modern AC servos have a motor and a servo drive control box. If you look closely you will see that like most servos they have two cables,
    one, a low power cable, is for the encoder and the other carries the three power wires for the servo motor.

There ar a lot of really cheap Chinese made servos on AliExpress but the manufacturers are little known and the quality and backup on their servos
    is questionable. Two brands, Delta (Taiwanese manufactured in China) and DMM ( Canadian manufactured in China) are good quality with good support
    and won't break the bank, but they are more than the Chinese bargain basement units but still much cheaper than Yaskawa, Seimens and Fanuc.

There are some servos that have the control electronics built into the motor. Clearpath's are the most common example. They are made by Technics
    and are good quality but they are expensive for what they are. You could buy a Delta servo, drive and cables for less and be twice or three times more