looking for someone to do lathe work for zero cost for my experimental setup

Thread: looking for someone to do lathe work for zero cost for my experimental setup

Downloads
    Uploads

Default looking for someone to do lathe work for zero cost for my experimental setup

I am looking for someone that can do some free (i.e. no charge) machining on a lathe for an experiment that I plan to set up. I have 3" diameter stainless steel tubes (thin wall) less than 1 foot long and also 1/4" tubing and vacuum flange fittings from Swagelok that need machining and eventually welding (I also need to find people who can weld these together). I'm guessing the machining will be around 15 hours of work. I am setting up an interesting experiment and my hope is to build the core part of the experiment and use that to find investors. I have 30 years experience as a mechanical engineer and a good amount of experience designing things with tubing and fittings that require welding. I can pay for the materials. The timeframe is to do this about 4 months (or later) from now. If I can find 2 or 3 machinists that are interested then that will cover the situation where some of them are too busy at that time.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: looking for someone to do lathe work for zero cost for my experimental setup

Why would someone do 15 hours work for free?

Are you offering shares / a return for the machinist if this experiment / product works out?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: looking for someone to do lathe work for zero cost for my experimental setup

I should have included details on my experiment, I'm hoping someone will find it interesting: