CNC hardware for PM-940

Thread: CNC hardware for PM-940

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default CNC hardware for PM-940

Hi,

My friend just purchased a manual PM-940 with harden ways and has asked me to help with installing CNC. I'm only a hobbyist and added an open loop stepper system with Desknc to CNC my shoptask gold machine around 15/20 years ago. Since then a lot has changed and I am coming here for guidance and direction to help my friend. Original plan was going with an open loop system using MACH3, Gecko drives, and stepper motors. Quickly I found this plan to be outdated.

The PM-940 is a tank of a machine and I'm impressed with the quality and function, I want one myself. The only thing decided is adding double nut ballscrews and a closed stepper system. I'm liking the idea of using linear encoder/scale for feedback to the driver card to eliminate ballscrew tolerances/variances/backlash. Here is where all the questions start and will list as follows.

1) Is the linear encoder/scale the best for feedback over a closed loop stepper motor?

2) Can the feedback from encoder/scale be routed to driver card or the PC for software control or either by design option? Would like to route feedback from linear encoder/scale to the driver card for control.

3) What is the best software to use for a closed loop system?

4) Can Mach3 be used in a closed loop system if feedback is routed to driver card.

5) Good motor to use around 1700 or 12Mn Nema 34?

Goal is to have a 3 axis CNC closed loop system for a hobbyist at around $3,000.

Thank you and have a great day,
    Bob

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: CNC hardware for PM-940

welcome back to the game. I think you'll find that things haven't changed as much as you might think. Mach3 is still a very viable piece of software at a good price point. Let me see if I can address most of your questions with a rant...