Newbie PlasmaCam never has worked and new ag teacher

Thread: PlasmaCam never has worked and new ag teacher

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default PlasmaCam never has worked and new ag teacher

Hello! I am a first year teacher and new to teaching ag mechanics. I did not take ag mech when I was in high school and still learning every day. I am teaching at a desolated school in the desert and from what I am told the plasmacam has never worked. An ag teacher from 9 years ago did have it working is another story I was told. The previous ag teacher last year was working on fixing the machine, but I have no idea what he did. The company refuses to help me and none of the ag teachers in surrounding counties have a plasmacam. We do not have a computer that goes with the machine either. Its coming down to me using my personal laptop. Any pointers I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks!

Honestly I don't even know where to start. I know nothing about these machines. The one we had in college was broken the day we received it so I never got to use it or the software. I am a fast learner with videos.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: PlasmaCam never has worked and new ag teacher

I teach Welding/Manufacturing up in Washington, and have a PlasmaCAM probably almost identical to yours. Mine is about 8 years old, and has been a steep learning curve, as well as a constant pain the butt.
    Two things; get a computer with a parallel port, and a 6 foot parallel cable to connect your computer to your PlasmaCAM controller. Secondly, see if you can locate the software. If you can't, PlasmaCAM is going to charge you $2000 for their new Design Edge Software. I MAY be able to help you out with the price of the software issue, as with being a teacher, I know its tough to justify that kind of cost for one seat of software.
    PM me about the software, but try to get a computer and 'short' parallel cable first.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads