A lithophane without a roughing toolpath on 1/4" corian!?! - Page 2

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: A lithophane without a roughing toolpath on 1/4" corian!?!

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Brilliant

Great idea about the scrubbing brush and Lacquer. I can't believe the difference. In the past I have washed the finished image with soap and water to clean and then applied a smear vegetable oil to give it a glossy look and blend any perspex that had gone white but your idea sounds much better.
    Your use of center is brilliant. I always spend ages trying to line it up when it was so simple all the time.
    I will give these a go next time.

Cheers
    Peter

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Software for cutting litho????

What is the best program for cutting litho's. I am new to the CNC world and would like to start cutting lithos. I have done some photoengraving with image carve, but am unsure if it will work for lithos.

Thanks,

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

PhotoVCave from www.Vectric.com , they even have a FREE trial version. They have tutorial which makes it easy to try.
    Bill

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Bill,
    Where do you get your bits? You mention Black and Decker, do you have an online supplier?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Another way to get a even frame is to mill a rectangle around the main image, leaving .125" stock (or whatever frame width is desired) between the image and the groove.

I mill my grooves .150" deep in .250" stock.

I then use a bandsaw to rough the piece out of the larger stock, cutting down the center of the groove. Then I use a disk sander to smooth the rough edge.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

bsimages, did you wash and laquer the eagle picture, or is it finished in some other way?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads