Need Help! Kent Knee Mill Single Phase Options

Thread: Kent Knee Mill Single Phase Options

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Kent Knee Mill Single Phase Options

Hello,

This is my first time posting, so let me know if this isn't the right place for this.

I recently purchased a Kent knee mill, built around 2005.
    This is primarily a hobby machine, in my garage.
    It has an Anilam 3000m control which seems to be working as intended, so far as I can tell so far.

My question though, is about powering the spindle motor.
    I have been doing quite a bit of reading on the topic of phase converters and VFD's, but I am very far from an expert.

It's a 3hp motor which, in it's current state, is powered by a 3hp 3 phase rated VFD, I believe.
    It's a Parker Hannifin drive, discontinued, but I was able to find some documentation on it, attached.

I have 220 volt single phase to the garage.
    From what I understand, the VFD needs to be derated to be used with single phase, so I would need a 7.5 or so VFD to replace the existing?
    Can a VFD be run off of a phase converter? What are the pros/cons in this situation?
    Here's the other thing- if you check out the manual, my drive actually has a "high capacitance" capacitor bank, which explicitly states for use with single phase. But it doesn't technically say that it can be used with single phase without being derated - less than the 3 hp 3 phase it's labeled as.
    Could I possibly upgrade the wires from 12 gage to 8, and just run as is? Could it be harmful to try?

If I were to get a higher power rated vfd, could I use the existing control panel? It's pretty well integrated, and looks nice, so I would prefer to keep it.

Can a VFD run off of a phase converter? It's odd how didfficult it seems to be to find information on this exact situation - already have a vfd, but need single phase.

Thank you so much in advance for any help to get me going in the right direction.

Similar Threads: