Need Help! Theory Crafting Simple Router Build

Thread: Theory Crafting Simple Router Build

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Theory Crafting Simple Router Build

Hello all,

I'm in the planning and research phase of building a cnc router.

My goal, albeit unrealistic, is to have a CNC router with a 24" x 24" work area that can perform 2D cuts on plywood and acrylic. I want to engage my 7 year old daughter's creativity and would like to use this machine to make something along the lines of simple bird/doll houses and boxes.

I chose 24" x 24" because I want the ease of walking into a hardware store like HD or Lowes and picking up a 2ft x2ft panel of ply and walk out without needing for further stock breakdown.

I don't have the budget for the usual desktop router offerings, so this will be a 3D printed router.

I have no meaningful hands on experience with CNC routing (I had a bad experience with the MPCNC, not really the machines fault though), so I am just guessing and taking blind stabs.

My current idea is to remix this design: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4762598 and swap out the bottom Y axis linear shafts for a supported shafts and extending the X axis the necessary length to achieve 24" of travel.

Do you believe that these changes would allow for simple 2D carving?

If this build volume is really unachievable for something similar to this design, then I'm going to abort and pick up a cheap 3018.

Thanks!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Theory Crafting Simple Router Build

Hi Krame - for the exercise I'd buy the 3018 and if it becomes useful use that to build parts for the next one. Designing a cnc can take quite a bit of time. Better off getting one and fixing its issues then starting from the remix. Peter

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Theory Crafting Simple Router Build

Hi,