Newbie Help me connect an Okuma workstation (OSP700M) to PC.

Thread: Help me connect an Okuma workstation (OSP700M) to PC.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Help me connect an Okuma workstation (OSP700M) to PC.

Hello guys and thank you for your help. I am new in the engineering profession and new in these forums so i would like to apologize in advance for my lack of knowledge of the beautiful field of CNC. Furthermore i will try to be as explanatory as possible to compensate for said disadvantage so i would kindly ask for your patience and tolerance to my ignorance.

I just graduated as a mechanical engineer and started a trainee ship in a machine shop a week ago. Before that i had never seen a CNC machine in my life. I just knew from university what they are and a few G-code commands like G00 , G01 etc.I must say i have learned a lot of new things in a week but not enough to dripfeed yet. Said machine shop has a few Okuma workstations bought in the 90s and they lack memory. They want me to drip feed their OSP700M .

This workstation has 2 ports on the side. one says "RS232" and the other says "DNC". Both are 25 pins. I read that i can not drip feed through the RS port but i havent found exactly why yet.

The PC i will connect to the station has windows XP (i think) , a 9 pin RS port and i downloaded a program called dnc4u which is not free but has a 60 day trial period. I connected the DNC port to the PC and tried to establish connection by using the programm. So far i managed to send a program from the machine to the pc but it comes back as giberish and the program tells me that i need to finetune the parameters in order to establish a good connection.

I tried to give the most basic info quickly. I have more detail but i dont know which of those are relevant. so i proceed with my questions and i will fill in the gaps as we go