Question on using LR15 lower turret as a tailstock

Thread: Question on using LR15 lower turret as a tailstock

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Question on using LR15 lower turret as a tailstock

Hi Okuma experts. I am looking at a used Okuma LR15, it has the front and rear turrets on it. It doesn't have a tail stock but I was wondering if it is possible to use one of the turrets as a tail stock and if anyone has successfully done that? I hate to give up a machine that does have a tail stock for one that doesn't.
    Thanks
    J

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Question on using LR15 lower turret as a tailstock

Yes, you can use a spring loaded one for light work. LR was a great machine, but be aware, drive units can top 10k each for those old machines if you have to buy a replacement.

Gold Member
    Downloads
    Uploads

yes. I've been doing that on an LT for 6 years doing medium roughing and finishing with a live center. its totally the wrong machine for the parts we make (need a real tailstock ideally) but you can't tell management anything like how to do things the right way so the machine will continue to be hammered until it dies ;-)

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by underthetire View Post
    Yes, you can use a spring loaded one for light work. LR was a great machine, but be aware, drive units can top 10k each for those old machines if you have to buy a replacement.
    Thanks,
    Also I was wondering about the spindle bore. Says it has a spindle bore of 3.9" but only a bar size of 2.44". Is this due to the hole size of an 8" chuck? Is it possible to get to a bigger bar size with different work holding?

Gold Member
    Downloads
    Uploads

it's my understanding that the spindle bore is the hole through the chuck and the bar size is the hole through the draw tube