Need Help! RAPID OVERRIDE

Thread: RAPID OVERRIDE

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default RAPID OVERRIDE

Does anybody know if there is a "M" code to control rapid override? My problem is that when I am drilling deep holes I would like the rapid at a lower setting and when traversing between holes or going to get a new tool I would like to take advantage of the full 1200 IPM rapid rate. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Similar Threads:

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Are you using a CANNED CYCLE for your deep hole drilling? If so, which one? Some cycles omit the RAPID. I guess you are wanting to slow down the feed rate when the tool goes in for the next peck cycle?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

I am using G83 canned cycle and yes, I would like to slow down the feed going back into the hole because chips are sometimes still in there and I can hear a sickening crunch and fear breaking a drill. I am a newbie at the OKK since the old-timer quit.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

CNC BOB, I was afraid you were going to say that one. How deep are the holes you are drilling? Will your machine handle subroutines? I had a similar problem drilling 3 in. deep holes into 4140 and I wrote a subroutine to handle it. I'll write you a sub and send it via e-mail for free if you let me know the paramaters. Hole depth, drilling distance before it pecks, your feeds you are using etc. then all you will have to do is insert the subroutine number inplace of your G83 line and make sure the subroutine is in your list of programs on the machine. Don't worry the sub will be very short depending on the depth of the hole and number of pecks. You will be able to edit the sub for other jobs and save it as another number. Another option is slowing down the rapid with your rapid override switch if you have one on the control. If you have several coolant lines dedicate one to blasting in the hole when the drill retracts.

Registered
    Downloads