Newbie Piping

Thread: Piping

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Red face Piping

Hello, i am a newbie. Now i am joining in graduate trainees program in Power Plant Division in a Pulp & Paper company.

I have a question for something that i saw in the field yesterday.

You see in the picture there are pump that transfer pure water from pure water tank to polisher system.

My question is, why the pipe not go straight toward to polisher system. Why should there pipe form like "upside down U" before it takes to the polisher system.
    Thankyou.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Piping-img20170914150940-min-jpg  
    Last edited by emkelgudsanov; 09-21-2017 at 10:33 AM. Reason: Attach picture

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Piping

The pump exit port is on the top of the pump. They could have used a 90° elbow in the system, but it looks like it was easier to install a U bend than an elbow. Makes a more compact system and allows the polishing feedwater pipe to sit closer to the pump. An elbow would have required more space between the pump and the pipe. The U bend also allows more tolerance for misalignment of the piping. Also for maintenance it's easier to handle the U bend than an elbow. Hydraulically it makes no difference.

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by emkelgudsanov View Post
    [B]Hello, i am a newbie. Now i am joining in graduate trainees program in Power Plant Division in a Pulp & Paper company.

I have a question for something that i saw in the field yesterday.

You see in the picture there are pump that transfer pure water from pure water tank to polisher system.

My question is, why the pipe not go straight toward to polisher system. Why should there pipe form like "upside down U" before it takes to the polisher system.
    Thankyou.