Newbie Creating an EGC / Travis Bean style neck

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Creating an EGC / Travis Bean style neck

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Creating an EGC / Travis Bean style neck

Hey guys! I'm coming over from this post over on metal necks and yes, i'm very new to this, but i also see huge potential, i want to learn as much as possible about making these guitars! I'm not shy of sharing my work (once there is something to share, of course), i see it more as a learning opportunity.

If anyone has any experience in owning/playing an aluminum neck guitar and could contribute a few answers:
    >An accurately measured egc neck thickness, this is vital to my study, and i can't seem to find it online oddly enough.
    >Does the backbow created by the truss rod and fret falloff at the high frets in traditional wood necks need to be accounted for when designing a completely aluminum neck? (from internet research the answer is most likely no but i want an owner's opinion)
    >How wide do the fret slots need to be for this kind of neck? Would they need to be wider than the standard 0.023"?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Creating an EGC / Travis Bean style neck

Welcome to the wealth of information on CNC Zone.
    I have been to metalnecks.com An older site still there good!
    Here is the question..... What do you want to do ?
    There are many here with lots of experience,
    maybe some of us have been there - done that...
    Warmoth, usaguitars have sites for neck choices.
    Tell ua what you are starting with and your CAD CNC experience please.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Creating an EGC / Travis Bean style neck-neck-std-solid-top-jpg  
    Been doing this too long

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads