Mori Seiki SL1H Retrofit Centroid DMM Hitachi

Thread: Mori Seiki SL1H Retrofit Centroid DMM Hitachi

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Mori Seiki SL1H Retrofit Centroid DMM Hitachi

Good Evening All,

I've been sitting on two mori seiki slant bed machines for a couple years both with varying control issues. Basically resigned myself to parting off the controls and doing a retrofit.
    I keep meaning to sit down and write out a post with my intended plan at some point with a couple options, but never seem to get to it. Decided I was just going to start the thread and get some feedback on a few things.

First off: Spindle Motor and drive. The drive is a Yaskawa Varispeed 626MT (7.5KW) It may be ok but I had some trouble with it back when I first started turning the machine on. First I got a fan alarm. Checked fan all is ok, re-installed fan and now have a overspeed alarm (without the machine trying to turn the spindle on) So I'm thinking I might have a failing drive.

Option 1: dink around with drive a bit more maybe pull it an bench test it with the motor an see if I can get it running without the control attached.
    Option 2: Buy a new drive from Mactech. (I think I've seen him post that he or his company stocks new drives. If so I'd be interested in a price)
    Option 3: Replace the drive with something like a 7.5KW hitachi Sensorless vector drive.