Milling Time Calculator

Thread: Milling Time Calculator

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Milling Time Calculator

Hi CNC Experts
    Firstpost

I am a design engineer and have no experience with machining , but i am working on a project to make an excel calculator for milling sprockets
    what i have learned so far is in order to calculate milling times we need need SFM and FPT based on Material and tool (i guess this is how mastercam do it )
    so my approach is to get feed rates and rpms from these SFM and FPT then dividing total path length with feed rate and get milling time (then will add finish pass, lead in/ lead outs)

So i collected SFM and FPT for few material that i have noted down (for HSS inserts) but when i plug in those values i get really high mill time with stainless steel does my sfm and fpt are wrong
    also suggest if this is right approach to go

Thanks

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Milling Time Calculator-material-sfm-fpt-png  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Milling Time Calculator

Hi bshahi - There are many free cam packages that will calculate toolpath time, why reinvent the wheel. Try camotics. Plus tool suppliers will provide tables with suggested DOC and feed rates for different materials. ...Your trouble will be that a tool does not have constant feed speed. The CAM velocity planner adjusts the tool velocity depending on the path curvature (eg around a 90deg turn) , acceleration settings and even jerk settings so it's not as simple as it seems...Peter

Downloads
    Uploads

I machine a lot of 304 SS and for HSS I would say your speed and chip load are about correct, but I think a HSS cutter would not last long. In real manufacturing you will be using the proper carbide cutters and run about 200 FPM at a 0.002 chip load, about 18 IPM feed.

I think your approach is correct.

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Downloads
    Uploads