Might be a dumb question, but...

Thread: Might be a dumb question, but...

Downloads
    Uploads

Lightbulb Might be a dumb question, but...

Hey everyone, so I'm a tool room CNC programmer. I was running a part the other day out of 4140 with a carbide rougher (link below), and I was told that I'm babying the cutter.

I was doing slotting, so 100% width of the tool, and was doing .100" per pass, and was creeping around 3IPM. Here's where it gets interesting.. I went back and checked the Feeds n Speeds (link below) and it recommends 1x DIA and 1x WOC to cut at 330SFM and .0016ipt

That converted out to doing a 1/2 woc, 1/2 doc, spinning 2521rpm, feeding at 16.1345ipm

Is it just me, or does it sound like that cutter is going to break? I'm not doing Trochoidal cutting, just a straight linear feed line.

I'm not used to machining at that aggression, but I need to make my tools last longer and get the job done at a more reasonable time.

1/2 4fl carbider rougher 1.25LOC

tool: Guhring.com: RF100 VA/NF standard length variable helix roughing-finishing ENDMILLs for stainless steels - Series 3081

speeds n feeds: http://www.guhring.com/Documents/Tec...n=080417012615

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Might be a dumb question, but...

Was that recommendation specifically for a slotting cut? When the tool is engaged on both sides, it's much more stressful on the tool; usually you'd slow down by at least half compared to a normal pass where the tool is only cutting on one side. Also, speed/feed recommendations are usually calculated based on an extremely rigid and powerful machine. If yours is lacking in those respects, you'll need to slow down.

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]
    [URL="http://www.computersculpture.com/"]Website[/URL]

Downloads
    Uploads

I'm not used to machining at that aggression, but I need to make my tools last longer and get the job done at a more reasonable time
    You have to cut, not rub.

Just some thoughts,