Milling 16mm hole when it should be 18mm

Thread: Milling 16mm hole when it should be 18mm

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Milling 16mm hole when it should be 18mm

Hi

I have searched around for similar topics, have found some, but they haven't been able to help solve my problem. Besides that I hope it is to right forum to ask in, if not I apologize.

My setup is a DIY CNC, designing and making g-code with Fusion 360 and control the CNC with Mach3. I am a newbie with all this stuff, but have so far learned a lot, and have really enjoyed the journey in this cnc hobby world, though it is a bit frustrated at times, when things doesn't work out as they should. But it is a learning process.

I try to mill a hole in wood with a diameter of 18mm, it is milled at app. 16mm. It is like the machine leaves a bit of stock, but I have checked that mark off in Fusion 360. I have tried to mill with a 6mm end mill and a 8mm end mill, it doesn't work with none of them. I use the 2d Pocket cam function in Fusion 360 with multiple depths. Found something about compensation, and something about a possibility to change tool in Mach3, but as I have understood and tried from this info, it doesn't work too.

Hope someone can help me out here, thank you a lot!

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by tangi; 08-22-2019 at 11:10 AM.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Milling 16mm hole when it should be 18mm

Yes, it sounds like fusion is posting your code expecting the control to compensate for the radius of your tool. If your controller supports cutter compensation, put 3mm in for the radius of your tool in the offsets page. Or look into turning cutter compensation off in fusion, which will post an arc move that is the 18mm but 6mm smaller.

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by zachlancy View Post