Unboxing & Setup.

Thread: Unboxing & Setup.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Question Unboxing & Setup.

With the Tier2 batch of MicroMills on their way to you this coming week, we thought it was time to go over the basics for unboxing and initial setup. We'll cover software in another thread. If you have any unboxing queries, or think anything is missing - please message directly through here, the Kickstarter campaign or usual email.

There are an awful lot of very experienced users on this forum, so this post is going to be more geared towards complete beginners in an attempt to get them up to speed quickly. For this reason Ill be cutting straight to the point (no pun intended!) and keeping things nice and simple.

So.

The first thing to do should probably be to get you setup with the software - but as soon as a box arrives, all we want to do is rip it open and take a look at whats inside. So we'll start with unboxing!

Step 1 - Removing your MicroMill from its box.

The MicroMill was packed in a custom-made two-part polystyrene shell which was then slid directly into its box. To get it out, cut through the packaging tape, flip the box upside down on a table and give it a jiggle to slide it upwards so that the polystyrene shell is left behind. Tip this onto its side and remove one of the side pieces. Simples!

Lift out the MicroMill, set it down and peel the film off both sides of the door. You'll want to push in the two side-windows that are in the box too. These didn't come pre-installed because they would be likely to fly out during postage and get damaged.

Alongside the MicroMill you'll find the following:
    • 1x IEC power cable for your region
    • 1x flexible shaft
    • 1x replacement spindle unit (Tier2 only)
    • 1x pack of collets
    • 12x assorted pieces of Foamex and polycarbonate
    • 1x pack of end mills
    • 1x pack of PCB cutters (tier2 only)
    • 2x polycarbonate side windows
    • 4x little rubber feet