Need Help! Need help aluminium cut

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need help aluminium cut

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Need help aluminium cut

Hello,
    I have purchased Solid Carbide Spiral 'O' Single Flute, Aluminum Cutting 1/8 Dia x 5/16 Cut Height x 1/8 Shank x 1-1/2 Inch Long Up-Cut Router Bit with*Mirror Finish today for the first time I tried to use it, to cut aluminum plate (6061). unfortunately it's broke immediately after I started cutting ... I used this parameters: (metric units)
    Spindle speed : 10,000 rpm
    Feed rate : 30 ipm = 12.7 mm/s
    Plate thickness : 6mm
    Step down (Pass depth) : 1.5mm, 4 passes totally.
    When I start the g-code, The bit inserted into the aluminium plate (depth 1.5mm) moved 1cm horizontally and broke into pieces.... What could be the reason ?! I post the g-code I tried & I will appreciate your help if you can run the g-code and find something wrong in it and let me know ( I'm a newbie) ... The g-code job size is 20cmx17cm.
    Also I attached 2 picture for the aluminium plate .
    Thanks
    Murad assadi
    Link to g-code https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B34...p=docslist_api Need help aluminium cut-uploadfromtaptalk1450472975637-jpgNeed help aluminium cut-uploadfromtaptalk1450473060259-jpg

Similar Threads:
    Last edited by assadi; 12-19-2015 at 11:38 AM.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Need help aluminium cut

Many things went wrong.

For the diameter bit you are using, you need more RPM, less depth of cut, and slower feed rate.

I would try 15k rpms, 0.5mm depth of cut, and 15ipm

Downloads
    Uploads

If you are plunge cutting, I would reduce the feedrate for that, but it would be best to ramp or helix into the cut.

Downloads
    Uploads

I used this parameters based on video tools today post (same bit),

Downloads
    Uploads

what kind of machine are you using?

Downloads
    Uploads