Sanding Aluminum - with the grain?

Thread: Sanding Aluminum - with the grain?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Sanding Aluminum - with the grain?

I've got some 220, 400 and 600 grit sandpaper that I'm using to finish aluminum.
    I've started experimenting and noticed quite a bit of different when I sand with versus against the grain. Is there a "best practice" for this?

Also, I've never used "wet" sandpaper before. Is that a must-have for this process? I'm not looking for a mirror-finish; simply trying to get rid of endmill tool path marks.

Thanks!

Similar Threads:
    Tormach PCNC 1100, SprutCAM, Alibre CAD

I'd only bother with the 200 grit if your makes are really deep. 400 should be good, finishing with the 600. This depends on the rest of the finish though, and you may find that going 600 might make the area you're working on too polished compared to the rest of the piece. Wet sanding works really well in that it provides some lubrication to make moving the piece around easier. Quite often, using dry sand paper will cause you it to catch. When this happens, it causes more damage and ruins the paper- meaning you no longer have a nice even surface to sand with. Creases in sand paper are bad.

R&B Cutter Grinding @ www.endmill-sharpening.com!

Downloads
    Uploads

R&B - thanks for the info!

Downloads
    Uploads

If the nature of the toolmarks is mostly appearance and not actual fingernail-snagging roughness, Scotchbrite works fairly well. It is available in different coarsenesses, too. It doesn't load up like sandpaper.

If one must sand to remove actual toolmark gouges, then you've probably got a thousandth or two to remove and will have to use sandpaper. If you have small fillets and corners to get into, a selection of sizes of vinyl tubing comes in handy as a backing. You can wrap the paper around the tubing to approximate your fillet radius, yet the tubing is flexible enough to give and follow the contours better than fingertip or a rigid backing.