Need Help! Anodizing

Thread: Anodizing

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Anodizing

Dear All,

Hope you are all doing well.
    I work as a supplier development engineer at Textile machinery company. We have only supplier that supplies us with aluminum profiles which are anodized (thickness - 100 microns).
    2 weeks ago I found another supplier like a backup supplier. And we made some trails even 1st samples were extruded successfully, but anodizing thickness still like: 70-80 microns, couldn't reach 100 microns.
    When I asked its secret from our current supplier, they didn't want to tell. Is there somebody who knows anodizing process well and who can tell me what I have to do in order to reach 100 microns.
    I would really appreciate if you could help me!
    With warm regards,
    Bekmurod

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Anodizing

1. Use regulated current supply, rather than regulated voltage.
    2. Do the right maths for the surface area of the part.
    3. Leave it in there long enough.

Downloads
    Uploads

Quote Originally Posted by dharmic View Post
    1. Use regulated current supply, rather than regulated voltage.
    2. Do the right maths for the surface area of the part.
    3. Leave it in there long enough.
    +1 to all 3

Automated Machinery Designer - PCNC1100 Series III upgrade, Graziano Sag 12 Lathe
    Solidworks 2016 (SW Certified), HSMWorks

Downloads
    Uploads

In fairness, as the film thickness increases it gets harder to push the current through so you end up needing a higher and higher voltage to keep growing the layer. Stronger acid may be required, and they may be using some magic catalyst in there to help punch the ions through.