New Machine Build Granite horizontal 5 axis build inspired by Grob/Kern

Thread: Granite horizontal 5 axis build inspired by Grob/Kern

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Granite horizontal 5 axis build inspired by Grob/Kern

Hello all!
    I have been spending way too much time rabbit holing on a new machine build and I wanted to share my progress and get some design feedback.

Inspired by @Fox3d and Dan Gelbart designs, I have been accumulating granite surface plates for a while, including one huge 4'x6'x10" beast ($100!!!) which I have made the base of this design. I want to get into 5 axis work and am very interested in the Grob and Kern machines. The design goals for the build are having a highly accurate machine that can have a decent 5 axis workspace I can use for R+D and small runs(I work in the robotics industry designing and building autonomous robots). Mainly this is a learning project.
    Experience-wise in this realm, 10 years or so ago I retrofitted a Maho with Linux CNC, so this is not entirely my first rodeo, but it is my first new build of a CNC machine with modern drive systems.

I have been accumulating ballscrews, servo motors, robot parts off of ebay etc for a long while, so I have much of the drive and structure components already in hand.

The plan for the axes carriages are building them with 2"(or 50mm) Aluminum Cast Tool and Jig plate (eg Mic6 etc) as they come already precision ground, and then sanding them on the surface plates (like fox) to final shape. Anyone have a sense for how parallel and flat they are from the factory? I have only used material like this for making molds in the past.