Need Help! Changed drives from MDS-A to MDS-C1 series and get S01-PR 0018 alarm - Page 2

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Changed drives from MDS-A to MDS-C1 series and get S01-PR 0018 alarm

Hi guys,

Sorry for bringing this oldy up but I thought I'd share my very limited and frustrating experience with mitsubishi drivers etc. I have an old Hartford HV-45 mill running meldas 500 with 3 mds-a-svj-10 for each axis. It seems at this age they tend to leak caps and self destruct (as with the power supply etc). We attempted to repair the boards but now getting a/d errors. I ended having to buy a unit used from China. I was wondering if there is a non mitsubishi drive and motor that will work as a replacement that is (a) newer (b) more generic (c) more cost effective?
    Considering this, I'd like to add a 4th axis but avoid running mitsubishi gear as it seems to be troublesome. Any suggestions?
    Btw my background is a mechatronics engineer so open to the tricky fiddley stuff if need be.

Thanks for any help you may offer
    Ben

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Changed drives from MDS-A to MDS-C1 series and get S01-PR 0018 alarm

Ben....
    Shoot me a private message and I'll give you my email and, possibly, we can talk on the phone if you are in the States. I've added a 4th axis to my M3 control, but that shares pretty much the same boards and OS as the 500. My guess is that it is similar. I'm familiar with the MR-Sxx drives, but not the MDS-A guys. In fact, you have me scratching my head on that one. The M3 system uses a proprietary interface. If you have an MC161-1 CPU in your system, you are likely using the same interface, which is basically an IDC50 connector. I have only seen one type of drive that interfaces with that setup, and it is the MR-Sxx series. So, part of me is wondering I'm wrong an the M500 is the next generation of CPU. If so, then I'm likely not going to be a ton of help.

ON EDIT: