carving a statue

Thread: carving a statue

Downloads
    Uploads

Default carving a statue

Imagine the statue of David. The z axis runs from head to toe and the work (feet) are mounted to a rotary axis of a multi axis machine. The statue is rendered in .stl format. It's pretty easy for me to imagine the tool path such that the area on the inside of David's thighs is cut as well as the area around his arms.

I need a strategy to approach this. I am just learning multi axis machining and normal path generation is leaving much of the sculpture uncut. Plus the fact that there are so many 3D and multi axis tool paths it's the needle in a haystack issue. Time is the other problem, if I get some setting not quite right MC spends hours generating a tool path only to crash.

Thank you!

here is a sample I have been using to test on. It's a bear skull. Nothing I have tried yet will cut out the eye/jaw pockets.

carving a statue-skull-jpg

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: carving a statue

You don't say what "normal" 4-axis routine you're using, but it sounds like you've got your Y axis stationary and your tool is progressing down X, then the A axis increments in degrees and it comes back the other way. This is not going to be able to reach the eye sockets of that skull, or between David's legs. You need to use a different strategy: indexed or "N-sided" cutting. This would treat the skull like a 3-axis part, with the Y being free to move as well as X and Z. When you've cut half-way down the eye sockets, you rotate the part 90 degrees (in this case, "N"=4) on the A axis and cut from the side, then another 90 to cut the bottom, and so on. I'm not sure if Mastercam has a pre-planned routine like that, but you should be able to make it work. Make sure that Y and Z are zeroed to the center of the rotary axis so nothing shifts when you rotate the part. If you can't get Mastercam to do it before it crashes, try DeskProto,

[FONT=Verdana]Andrew Werby[/FONT]