A Crazy concept theory for small business or hobby machinist to cnc at a new level.

Thread: A Crazy concept theory for small business or hobby machinist to cnc at a new level.

Downloads
    Uploads

Default A Crazy concept theory for small business or hobby machinist to cnc at a new level.

Hi my name is Steve Ryan
    I'm a disabled auto mechanic with way too much time to think.
    After years owning my own business and seeing the cost of equipment rise, labor rise, the need to do more with less the only way to survive.
    I see waste and counter productivity everywhere.
    Would you shove a 20 foot long one foot square piece of material in the door of a machining center to make 4 inch doodads.
    No you would saw the material first.
    The plastic injection molding business down the street from me has 15 machining centers making any kind of plastic doodad you wish to purchase the mold to make from fishing lures to cooking pot handles.
    The cost is not in plastic, It is in the making of the mold. And the customer has to pay for that first. How do you compete with country's that will subsidize their manufactures cost and include the mold if you let them manufacture the product with employees that cannot spell cnc.
    Here is how I would attack that issue. I have to have that machining center to be precision, but I certainly don't need 15 of them turning chunks of material into parts.
    I'd purchase 20 zx45 type mills and cnc convert all of them for less than one machining center. They would be the band saws of my shop. ripping away the material that is in the way of my machining center creating a precision part.
    The zx45's are throw a ways doing 95 percent of the work and in a few hours can be replaced for $2400.00 dollars.
    Unbolt the retrofit and slide a new machine under it. sell it before it's worn out to a hobbyist.
    A few fixtures to maintain precision and your banging out way more molds and competitive.