Basic programming question

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Basic programming question

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Basic programming question

We do a lot of high speed face milling, removing a lot of material in small Z increments. Currently I programmed a sub program with the X and Y movements, but manually input each drop in Z, so it looks like:

G00 Z1.0
    M98 P4000
    G00 Z0.950
    M98 P4000
    G00 Z0.900

etc etc...

Is there a simple line I can add to increment Z from a start position until it reaches zero?

I'm pretty new to this, so all help gratefully received.

Pete.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Basic programming question

Quote Originally Posted by Peteuk View Post
    We do a lot of high speed face milling, removing a lot of material in small Z increments. Currently I programmed a sub program with the X and Y movements, but manually input each drop in Z, so it looks like:

G00 Z1.0
    M98 P4000
    G00 Z0.950
    M98 P4000
    G00 Z0.900

etc etc...

Is there a simple line I can add to increment Z from a start position until it reaches zero?

I'm pretty new to this, so all help gratefully received.

Pete.
    Why even use a sub this is very simple to give a Z move at the end of each X axes move like, it should never be able to reach Zero tool setting is top of your part work zero every other move is a negative move until you have removed enough material

%
    O3484
    N1G17G40G80
    T4
    M6
    G54
    S2850M3
    G90G0X0.Y0.
    G43Z.1H4
    G1Z-.01F40.
    X10.
    G1Z-.020
    X0.
    G1Z-.030
    X10.
    G0Z3.
    M9
    M5
    M30
    %

Mactec54

Downloads
    Uploads

This should work for you if you have macro ability

#100=1.000(STARTING Z)
    #101=.05(CUT INCREMENT)
    #103=.900(FINAL DEPTH)

while[#100LT#103]DO1
    G0XxxxxYxxxx(start of cut)
    G1Z#100F50.
    M98P4000
    #100=#100-#101
    end1

G0XxxxxYxxxx(finish pass)
    G1Z#103F50.
    M98P4000

Downloads
    Uploads