Question about cutting speeds

Thread: Question about cutting speeds

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Question about cutting speeds

Hi Guys,
    I’ve been using my CNC Router Parts 2x4 pro for over a year now, so I guess you can say I’m still a newbie lol !
    I’ll try to keep this short but to the point.
    So I have the 2x4 pro with the 34 ?steppers motors.
    I’m using a PC 3hp router and I enjoy to make all sorts of projects.
    My latest project was ( see attachment) a 34”x 20” 3d wall decor.
    What’s bothering me is that it took me 12 hours to do.
    I started using a 1/2 carbide ball 2 flute with 1/4” max step over and 1/8” step down at 13000rpm and 80 feed speed .
    Then 2 passes @ 125 speed and same rpm using a taper 1/4 to 1/16” to finish.
    I adjust my speeds and feeds by ear trying to insure there is no chatter or motor stalling do to overload.
    My question is if I upgraded to CNC Router Parts spindle motor could I cut deeper and faster?
    I’ve been cutting in dimensional 2x pine because it’s cheap and I’m still learning everyday.....
    And that brings up a second question...
    I know that the 2x pine isn’t the driest but is there a way to keep it from cupping?? This last piece curled up 1/2” on me almost ruining the project.

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Question about cutting speeds-ea4fe289-4ecf-4bbf-8dcb-837bcf28f4de-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Question about cutting speeds

You can cut much faster with the PC router that you are using.
    Try the roughing pass at 18,000 rpm and 300ipm.
    Then do a single finish pass at 18,000 rpm and 250ipm.

That should reduce the time substantially.