5 AXIS VS 4 AXIS?

Thread: 5 AXIS VS 4 AXIS?

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default 5 AXIS VS 4 AXIS?

I'm new to CNC machining, so please forgive the ignorance of these questions:-) Can you get good detail and undercuts for sculpture in the round (i.e. statues) using a 4-axis milling machine as opposed to a 5-axis? What’s the difference between them in what they can do?

Similar Threads:

Community Moderator
    Downloads
    Uploads

4-axis are way more common in any case compared to 5-axis. 4-axis is XYZ with a turning axis, 5-axis is much more complex and the moving/turning directions depends on the setup.
    use the search function and you will find some examples.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

You're better off either cleaning up the undercuts by hand, or milling your sculpture in parts to be able to mill undercut areas and then assembling.

5 Axis machines and the software needed, are far, far more expensive, complicated and difficult to tram/align then 4 axis machines.

If it has to be milled, has to be milled in one piece, and can't have any unmilled undercuts, try to farm it out. Cheaper and more timely in the long run.

You can also look at Rapid Prototyping.

Banned
    Downloads
    Uploads

timbot1982,

The size of your parts can be much larger with a 4 axis setup than for 5 axis for the same money. Big 5 axis costs BIG money. I have done a lot of 4 axis rotary engraving and I think it would be the most practical way to go.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Came across a new site out there specifically for 5-Axis machining. There is some basic information about 5-Sided versus 5-Axis.

5-sided programming. Do you need a CAM system? | 5-Axis Machining

Downloads
    Uploads

I have a 4 axis machine, but I only have set up the fourth axis for making turnings. I either leave material sprues on my part to locate it when I flip it over, or I use custom clamping jigs to hold the part in the needed orientation.