Need Help! Z axis coordinates inverted in MACH3 (down is positive)

Thread: Z axis coordinates inverted in MACH3 (down is positive)

Default Z axis coordinates inverted in MACH3 (down is positive)

MACH3 newbie here...

Well, as the headline states I think I have a problem with my MACH3 setup.
    This is retrofit of an old mill with propritary hardware and I have istalled an NVCMV2.1 USB controller and new stepdrivers. I have actually used the machine until now with GBRL and bCNC, but it is now converted to Mach3.

Most is now in a working condition, homing works just fine and zero`s all the axis. X and Y axis is incrementing at "LEFT" and "UP", the problem is that Z is also incrementing at "DOWN". I am under the impression that the Z-axis is supposed to be negative when the tool moves down, like it did on my last GBRL setup. I have searched a lot on the web and all I can find is questions where folks is confused because the Z-axis is negative, opposite of my problem.

This is not a direction problem of the stepper "DIR" signal. The Z-axis moves in the right direction. "Page Down" moves the tool closer to the surface. But while the tool moves down the DRO goes positive. I have tried multiple things to fix this. Direction in port setup only changes direction of the tool, obviously. I have even tried to adjust "Steps per" to "-400" (negative) in "Motor tuning", but this was not a plesant suprise.

As far as I know is should be possible to change the setup in CAM-software to output g-code with inverted z-axis. But this is not the route I would like to go if I can avoid this.

Is it possible to change this direction indication for the Z-axis?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Z axis coordinates inverted in MACH3 (down is positive)

In Mach3 , go to 'config', 'Homing/Limits' and click on Z axis and select Reverse. Good Luck.

My 2¢