Need Help! Mach3 - Engraver - Axis won't stay calibrated

Thread: Mach3 - Engraver - Axis won't stay calibrated

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Mach3 - Engraver - Axis won't stay calibrated

Hey there all you cool cats and kittens.

Let's start this off by saying I have had no CNC experience until lockdown. I have had a 2030 engraver in the workshop for years and never touched it. I acquired it in a job lot on eBay, with a PC tower, but it has just been sat there collecting dust. Until now.
    As I said I have had no experience and the learning curve has been steep. Figured out how to get the machine running/use Mach3 (after laying out £150 for the updated software), learnt CAM in Fusion, output some Gcode and cut my logo in a piece of ply. Proper well stoked so I was.
    My problem now is all of the axis' won't stay calibrated and I have no idea what to do in order to try and fix it. I have been on the Mach support forum but things move at a snail's pace over there so thought I would try my luck here.

So my setup. I have a PC tower running Windows XP. I think it's 32bit and it has a parallel port (I don't know if its 5v but I would assume so as the engraver is covered in wood-dust so must have been running at some point). I have a T-D 3 axis controller with a JP-3163B board set to 1/8 step. The motors on the engraver are 57HD0401-15S.

Please let me know if you need any more information, or pictures, whatever.

Thanks,
    Paul

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Mach3 - Engraver - Axis won't stay calibrated

Hi,
    I've followed your thread on the Mach forum and suggested you get some real data on you steppers and drivers that we might asses whether
    one or more are faulty or whether you are demanding more than they are capable of.

You have not responded. If you can't be bothered to answer the questions then I can't be bothered to formulate solutions for you.

Craig

Downloads
    Uploads