"Motion Inhibit" Function Help

Thread: "Motion Inhibit" Function Help

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default "Motion Inhibit" Function Help

Hi All;

I'm a newbie with Mach4, hope someone can point me in the right direction. I'm having trouble utilizing the "Motion Inhibit" input. I have a set of servo ready signals wired to provide proof to the system that the servos are ready to receive pulse and direction signals. They are wired to Pin 12 Port 1 of my BOB. I can map the input to a light on the screen (that is set to indicate the status of the "Motion Inhibit Input") so I believe Mach should be seeing it. It just does not inhibit Mach from sending out drive signals to my servo's. I expected to see an alarm / warning that "Motion Inhibit" was active. ????? Its like I have to activate that feature or something??

BTW
    Windows XP
    Mach4
    Smooth Stepper
    C23 BOB

Thanks in Advance
    Jim

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: "Motion Inhibit" Function Help

Hi,
    you'll get more replies if you ask on the Mach4 board of the Mach Support Forum.

I suspect that the problem is that while Mach4 has a signal called Motion Inhibit it does not do anything.
    Another guy I helped found the same with the signal Spindle At Speed. He thought that because it was
    defined by Mach then it should do a certain thing. He was incorrect. The information carried by the signal
    has to be incorporated into some code to have it do as you wish.

It is true that certain signal are not only defined but already have specific actions associated with them but most do not.

This is an example of a 'object oriented' style of programming, a much more modern style than Mach3, where a signal (object)
    is defined but its action is separate.

Craig

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Craig;