Need help with PWM laser control in Mach3

Thread: Need help with PWM laser control in Mach3

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Need help with PWM laser control in Mach3

I am new to PWM control and need some help. I have a DIY CNC router that DOES NOT use spindle control and I am adding a 6W diode laser.I have followed many of the online youtube videos on setting this up in Mach3 but can't seem to get it working. I have several questions that I think may point me in the right direction.

1. My breakout board does not have a spindle relay. Any instruction I have found use a board with a spindle relay. Do I need a new board?
    2. My board only has a 5V input. Any boards with a spindle relay also have a 12-24V input for the PWM. Do I need a new board?
    3. If I get a board with the spindle relay, do I connect the TTL input to the laser controller to the relay output or to the PWM ports on the board?
    4. If I get this working, can I manually turn the laser on and off using the spindle control in Mach3?

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Need help with PWM laser control in Mach3

My breakout board does not have a spindle relay. Any instruction I have found use a board with a spindle relay. Do I need a new board?
    --You shouldn't need a new board, just buy a relay board. This is the one I have https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07DSYTJMD (one controls the spindle, the other the laser)

My board only has a 5V input. Any boards with a spindle relay also have a 12-24V input for the PWM. Do I need a new board?
    --The PWM comes from Mach3's parallel port pin usually pin 14 or what ever pin you have defined on the spindle for ports and pins. So shouldn't need a new board, it's just a pin on the BOB.

If I get a board with the spindle relay, do I connect the TTL input to the laser controller to the relay output or to the PWM ports on the board?