Convert manual mill to CNC

Thread: Convert manual mill to CNC

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Convert manual mill to CNC

I have two manual vertical mills. One is a Bridgeport. The other is an Excello. I've been looking into converting one to CNC. I can make all the mechincal parts. But I have zero experience with the electrical/controls side. Is there a decent write up on how to get this done? Or does someone make and sell a plug and play (or very well labaled) wiring set up for CNC conversion?

The mills i find locally that are pretty much CNC converted mills, go for around $7-8000. Add in rigging/trucking it, that could easily be $9000.

For those that have done this. What did you spend all said and done? Not including the mill, which i already own.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Convert manual mill to CNC

It really depends on what you want to end up with. It's quite possible to add the controls for <$1000 on the low end and have a reasonably serviceable CNC machine. Or on the high end, the sky's the limit. I have done 2 mills for about $7500 each. And currently have a lathe in process that will be around $10,000 when completed. The two mills were already CNC machines as is the lathe. The lathe price includes all new servo drives and motors, the mills used the original drives and motors.

Your BP would probably be the easiest to convert because there are bolt in ball screw kits available, not sure if the same is true for the Excello.

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Convert manual mill to CNC