K2 2525LT Y axis tram adjustment

Thread: K2 2525LT Y axis tram adjustment

Downloads
    Uploads

Question K2 2525LT Y axis tram adjustment

hey guys, im pretty new to cnc's but i consider my self pretty mechanically inclined, and I am trying to tram my K2 2525LT and cant seem to find any adjustment screws, or slotted holes to adjust it with. i don't want to start taking things apart before knowing if ill make the problem worse, or doing a ton of work for a simple fix. the x axis is pretty good, but the y axis leaves about a fingernail thick step (i know, its not in thousands of an inch, im new, lol) and it shows up on all the cuts. is this a known issue, or something that there is no fix for, or can it be adjusted, or corrected with an aftermarket part or a hack. i thought about shimming it, but would like to try any other options before going through that.
    thanks in advance!

also, how difficult is it to replace the router head with a spindle?

Similar Threads:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails K2 2525LT Y axis tram adjustment-img_5896-jpg  

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: K2 2525LT Y axis tram adjustment

I recently trammed my K2 in the Y direction by shimming the lower X-axis bearings. It was easy to do once I realized what needed to be done. I used two 1" wide strips of brass as shims. If you raise the Z axis all the way up you can access the four screws for each bearing. I loosened the screws a little, inserted the shims behind the bearings (between the two rows of screws), and tightened the screws back up. You could also shim the upper bearings in the same way, but I suspect yours needs tramming in the same direction as mine, because the weight of the Z axis tends to pull it down a bit. You can calculate the thickness of the shims needed by checking the tram first and converting based on the vertical distance between the top and bottom X-axis bearings. I needed 0.017" shims on mine.