Gantry or Stepper issue?

Thread: Gantry or Stepper issue?

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Gantry or Stepper issue?

See video: https://sendvid.com/i5f1ho8k

Running around 170 IPM per LinuxCNC. Acceleration is set very low. It seems that the gantry randomly binds (have cleaned the screws and bearings) while traveling down the length. Where on the y axis it binds and which side binds is inconsistent. Is this a stepper motor or software issue or a mechanical issue?

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: Gantry or Stepper issue?

Whats the pitch of your ballscrews?
    What RPM are your steppers doing at 170 IPM?
    Do you have dual ballscrews?
    Whats the torque of your steppers?
    Whats the Inductance of your steppers?
    What voltage are your running your steppers at?

Downloads
    Uploads

I am new to all of this so bear with me. I purchased this already built Joe's CNC 4x4 Hybrid which is functioning, but it has opportunity for improvement. :-D

- Whats the pitch of your ballscrews?
    + 1/2"-8 8 start acme screws

- What RPM are your steppers doing at 170 IPM?.
    + Steps per revolution are 200. Not sure how to check rpm at a given IPM. I am using LinuxCNC | MESA 5i25 + 7i76 | HobbyCNC Chopper Driver (rev1)

- Do you have dual ballscrews?
    + Yes one screw and stepper on each side.

- Whats the torque of your steppers?
    +They are Bipolar NEMA 23s with 425 oz-in of torque (per specs, not personal measurement. Do I need to?)

- Whats the Inductance of your steppers? I
    +I believe they are wired as Bi-Polar Serial (Orange and brown connected | Blue and yellow wires connected) which per manufacture documentation the inductance would be 12.8 mH/Phase (+-20%)

- What voltage are your running your steppers at?
    + 4.2 volts. 3amp from the Hobby CNC board

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi,