tnc151 problems

Thread: tnc151 problems

Downloads
    Uploads

Default tnc151 problems

Hi , Im a newbie here and would like to ask for help from you amazing wizards please.

I have an old 80s Bridgeport Interact with a Heidenahain TNC 151 conversational control on it.

I have it connected to an older PC running windows XP

The cable is a RS232 serial cable by LINDY connected to a USB to RS232 adapter for pc.

I have been using CamBam to create drawings then Gcodes with a 151 post processor from another friendly person on the CamBam forums..

So a few questions please...

1. Can you tell me if im using the correct cable to allow communication and drip feed programs.

2. Can you recommend any good reliable tnc programs with easy set up and user instructions to allow me to set up and run/drip feed the codes.Also a good easy to use gcode simulator to visually check for errors etc.

3. Can you please advise if i have to insert any special characters at start and end of code when running the tnc program.

I am learning this as i go along and have been impressed with the amount of knowledge, people like yourselves have on these type of forums....so im hoping that someone can help me get mine running programs from my pc....

Many thanks

Bob

Downloads
    Uploads

Default Re: tnc151 problems

Dear Bob,

it depends on the SW level of your control, if "Transfer Blockwise" is possible.
    Requires min. 05.

You can read more about in the attached pdf.

I advise you to use TNCserver, which is inside TNCremo you can download from Heidenhain's webpage:
    https://www.heidenhain.com/en_US/software/

Downloads
    Uploads

Hi Bob,

I am on a steep learning curve myself but lost days of my life to the wrong cable and wrong way to operate the PC etc.

Here is a list to try: