Problem Machine Shop claims they can't mill my part, hardened steel mold die, help!

Thread: Machine Shop claims they can't mill my part, hardened steel mold die, help!

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Machine Shop claims they can't mill my part, hardened steel mold die, help!

Hello,

Introduction:

I am new here, I am an Engineering student, and I am developing a product for a start up company, and have an interest in machining and I do simple conventional stuff myself as well as some diy CNC, nothing complicated though.

My project:

I need to modify an existing injection mold die, it is over 10 years old and made outside the U.S. It was originally pre-hardened, EDM machined, and coated with TiN. It is extremely expensive, which is why I would rather modify it than have it remade. I need pockets milled into the mold to accept inserts. The mold die was hardened to accept high volume production, it no longer needs to serve that purpose, I only need it for low volume production. For this reason the TiN can be removed and it really won't matter at all.

My Problem:

I have been developing this product for months, and it would be ready to go in about 2 weeks, and all that had to be done was modification of the mold die, I had the machine shop lined up, Purchase order issued. However, when I went to deliver the mold die, they asked if it was hardened (the answer is yes) then they said it would not be possible to machine. It is likely a hardened tool steel (maybe A2, I have no idea since I have no documentation on the mold die) and it is probably around 60 HRC. Does anyone know if it is possible to machine this steel, or is it truly a lost cause? I thought it was possible to machine hardened metals, but I could be wrong? Do I have to turn to EDM? I wanted to avoid EDM due to cost. I would appreciate any advice!

Thanks!

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

just follow a simple logic..