Little question.

Thread: Little question.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Little question.

A little about me and then my question.

Four weeks before I graduated high school I was offered a job in a machine shop and I took it. When I was hired at the shop I had no machine shop experience at all.

So far I have worked in the shop for six months, and I like it alot. I run the CNC Lathe's during the night shift with a guy that has many years of Manual and CNC machining experience, and he has thought me basically everything I know so far.

So far after six months I can set up basic jobs on the HAAS lathe's. I don't get much opportunity to set up the machine or experiment because I have to run alot of parts and some times two machines at a time, and most of the time the parts have very close tolerances so I don't really get much time to fool around...

My question is,

Do you guys know of any small/mini CNC lathe's or mills that support G code's that I might be able to afford for home use. So I can learn and try things at home...

Im looking for something very small, that I can run at home in the garage with my dad.

Thank you.

Downloads
    Uploads

What about the Haas office lathe (OL-1), dunno what the price is but you and your dad could be plinking out small parts after hrs for some cash.

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Look for a used TL or mini lathe

Downloads
    Uploads

I assume that as an 18 or 19 year old, you don't have $20K laying around to spend

If you're just trying to learn, I'd first look to local trade schools or community colleges for a CNC class. If you don't have access to a CNC class and you absolutely must buy your own machine, you'll probably end up looking for something like this:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=270195402859

You can probably get up and running for under $2K with a used mini lathe. You won't be able to make much but you'll learn all of the basics that you seek.