Acrylic: Drilling Holes and Newbie Questions about Feed formulas

Thread: Acrylic: Drilling Holes and Newbie Questions about Feed formulas

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Default Acrylic: Drilling Holes and Newbie Questions about Feed formulas

So, I have a CNC router, and I'm somewhat constrained on the variables at my control presently. Namely, I am limited to a spindle RPM between 10k and 23k, and a maximum feed rate of 80IPM.

We'll get to that in a moment -- but, as a newbie, I have a (very important to me) equation to figure out before I really get started routing acrylic. I'd like to get feedback on it _before_ I start to avoid the same mistakes I made in wood ($40 in bits broken in 5 minutes == a stop to any work until the next payday).

So, my question is pretty straight-forward: I need to cut a number of small holes (think 0.196" and smaller in diameter) for screw pass-throughs, I have a 1/8th single-flute up-cut spiral bit, and a whole slew of drill-bits. For holes like the the .196", would it be wise to use just a standard drill bit (knowing I bottom out at 10k RPM), or to use the 1/8" carbide router bit?

So, in that light: should drilling in acrylic be done by drill-bits, or by router bits? In whichever situation, does anyone have any advice on plunge rates?