Hi all,

I am considering to build a pick and place machine for my company. I have extensive experience in electronics circuits design, this is my company's area of activity for 15 years. I have some experience with mechanical engineering, I have some tools available, but I lack experience with the specifics of building mechanics of a CNC machine. So, if somebody can give me some advice, would be really helpful.
What I will use:
-software is available, Open PNP, looks fit for my purpose.
-some of control electronics, more specifically translator between openpnp/gcode and various signals for motors controllers, actuators, sensors, etc, I will build myself
What I want to obtain:
-a mechanical pick and place machine, preferably 1,5x1m size
-enough precision for 0201 components
-speed as high as possible
-head with around 10 nozzles
What I have in mind to use so far:
-400w servo motors for high inertia, panasonic, with matched controllers and with absolute linear encoder, in full closed loop configuration
-screw balls for driving head and gantry
-wide linear guides, with balls, for both x and y, to be able to sustain high inertia forces
-a thick aluminium base
-price of course does matter but is not the main selection criteria, the goal is performance, within resonable price limits.
What is not clear and where I need advice:
1. I think at 1x1.5m aluminium base, maybe 25mm thick, this will have around 100kg. I think it needs to be heavy to damp as much as possible from vibration generated by x/y movements. Am I right? Do I need heavier or 100kg is too much?